How We Review

16 comments

*Please note: the reviews can sometimes make even a great book seem like a bad one. It may be useful for you to read a few books and look at the reviews so you get an idea of how the information looks within a story versus plucked out of context.

 The review is divided up into the following categories: language, sexual content, alcohol/drugs, violence/disturbing, social/family, religious/spiritual.  Basically, we examine every book for content that parents might want to know their child is being exposed to. Families will have different levels of comfort with different material, so we have taken a very conservative approach and have tried to list most things that might raise a flag for a child or their parents. Clearly, this is difficult to be objective about, but we do our best to list as much as possible. 

 A book that you remember fondly from your own childhood may suddenly appear totally inappropriate when you read the review—don’t panic! Remember, this is just information for you to be aware of. The content is pulled totally out of context.  You know your child best and can determine if the content will bother them or not. If you’re not sure, try having them read it until they find something that bothers them and you will start to get a good idea of what to look out for.

 A note about Young Adult books:

Young adult books fall into a wide age-range: 12-18, though most of them are 14-17.  We consider Young Adult (YA) to be 14-17 year-olds. 

Content review by category:

Language 

4-8 year-olds: Words like “stupid”, “hate”, “idiot”, etc. These are about as bad as it gets in this age group.

9-12 year-olds: We list words that are generally considered “cuss words” or “curse words”.  Particularly cruel words will be listed here, as well. Racist or sexist words may be listed here, but more likely in the “Social/Family” section, depending on context.  The language section will have: Level 1, 2 or 3 with a link to a list of words that level might contain.

12+ and YA: Generally held curse words will be listed as:  Level 1, 2 or 3 with a link to a list of what that level might contain.  Cruel, racist or sexist words may be listed here, but possible in the ‘Sexual Content’ or ‘Social/Family’ section, depending on context.

Language Levels

Level 1: words like hell, damn, dammit, bastard
Level 2:  a*s, b**ch
Level 3: four-letter words, particularly vulgar words or words that are generally held to be very offensive

Sexual content 

4-8 year-olds: Almost non-existent in this age-group. But I will mention any ideas, pictures, or words that seem edgy.

9-12 year-olds:  Any descriptions of a person that are sexual (ex: mentioning someone’s butt) or a suggestive thought process, i.e., giving someone a once over.  This age-group starts to have more kissing and touching, though fairly innocent in nature.

12-14 year-olds:  Books that fall in this age range are reviewed on both the 9-12 year-old level and the YA level for sexual content.

14-17 year-olds (YA):  References to sex, sexual thoughts and feelings, and sex acts will be listed here.

 Alcohol/drugs

All age groups:  Any reference to drugs, alcohol or tobacco products are listed here. Even if it is adults who use them.  This includes mis-use of medication.

 Violence/scary/disturbing

4-8 year-olds: Violence against another person or an animal.  Since “scary” is extremely subjective, I include anything that might startle or frighten a child in real life. If I don’t think it’s a good read at bedtime, I’ll mention that as well.  Nightmare fodder, anyone?

9-12 year-olds: Same as 4-8 year-olds.  Also, weapons are listed if they are used against people.

12+ and YA: Same as above, but taking into account the age the book is recommended for by the publisher/Amazon.  In these upper age ranges, things become darker and more sinister.

 Social/family

4-8 year-olds:  Some common themes revolve around family issues like divorce and sibling problems.  Bullying and loss of a pet will be mentioned, too.

9-12 year-olds:  This section includes a wide-range of themes, including; bullying, anti-parent/family sentiments, sexism, racism, ageism, classism, stereotypes, differences of any kind that are portrayed in a negative way. Some classic children’s literature includes material that, by today’s standards, is not considered culturally sensitive or is stereotypical and that will be mentioned here, too.

12+ and YA: Same as 9-12 year-olds, taking into account the age of the intended audience.  YA content in this area can be very mature and controversial.  This is usually the largest section in YA books because of the significant issues teens are working through as they come-of-age. Reviews include issues about body image, suicide/depression, family dynamics, peer pressure, and authority figures, to name a few.

 Religion

 4-8 year-olds: I include any references to religious figures (God, Allah, goddess, the Pope, pastor, demons, etc), religious icons (crosses, holy water, prayer mat, etc), religious practices (going to Temple, observing the Sabbath, praying, worship, etc). I include these so that you can talk to your child when they ask a question about a religion or practice that they are not familiar with.

 9-12 year-olds: Similar to 4-8 year-olds, though we assume some basic knowledge of mainstream religious ideas and icons (crosses, prayer, going to Church/Temple).

 12+ and YA:  A notch up from 9-12 year-olds. The YA books, in particular, start to questions religious beliefs and there is sometimes some religion bashing which we will note.  Things get darker with this age-group, and especially in a spiritual way—evil becomes truly sinister and can harm people (an idea that is not permitted at younger levels very much).

{ 16 comments… read them below or add one }

Jon Ripslinger July 28, 2010 at 6:24 am

I have two novels that I would be honored to have you to review, both published by Flux, an imprint of Llewellyn World Wide, LTD. The two titles are Derailed and Last Kiss.

Melissa July 28, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Hey Jon!

We’d love to take a look at them–send ‘em our way. Our ship to address is:

Bookalachi
9249 S. Broadway #200
Box 338
Highlands Ranch, CO 80129

Thanks!

Betsy February 16, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Hi,
I have an adorable children’s book called “In Search of the Light” that I would love to submit for review. Can I send to the address I see in your comment reply above?

Thank you!

Please visit http://www.insearchofthelight.com/ to learn more about this fantastic kids book!

Ali B. January 9, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I’ll be checking back regularly for reviews and ideas. Great site. Thank you!

Susan Connolly October 20, 2013 at 10:31 am

Hello,

In 2009, Mercier Press published my children’s fantasy novel, Damsel, for children aged 9-12. Originally available in print only, Damsel is now available as an ebook. The first two chapters can be seen via the Kindle Look-Inside feature at the link below, and I have included a blurb for the book in this email. Should you find Damsel suitable for review I would be delighted to send you a copy of the ebook.

Thank you for your time,

Susan E. Connolly

Link: http://www.amazon.com/Damsel-ebook/dp/B00C7TOBDE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1382287706&sr=8-1&keywords=damsel+connolly

Blurb: Can a damsel ever be the one to do the rescuing? Annie Brave thinks so. Her father, one of the most famous heroes of them all, is missing, presumed eaten. With no heroes available to rescue him from the evil wizard Greenlott, Annie sets off on a rescue mission.

Teaming up with Roger of Rockfield, an honourable liar, she embarks on a quest which is far from traditional. From the perils of fighting dragons or dealing with the amorous advances of a prince frog (not to be confused with a frog prince) every incident leads them further into an adventure they never expected.

Kennethon February 25, 2014 at 11:36 pm

http://www.wolfriverrig.com/
The Lanco well pad has three natural gas wells Nineteen workers were on the well pad during the explosion Robertson said adding a fire continued to burn, Nike shoes on sale It is about love It’s not just free sex where you can sleep with whomever you wanthe argued,Like the original California launched back in 2008 the new model which will be known as the California T when it rolls out to clients following its official Geneva Motor Show reveal in March has a metal folding roof front-mounted V8 and has been designed to offer boulevard cruising and supercar thrills in equal measure,.
http://www.pcpokerpro.com/
Michael Kors Online
discount Michael Kors bag
http://www.circlesrope.com/

dwooywq March 14, 2014 at 11:42 pm

yAxIkq hnbchjozubmv, [url=http://scackdpqismw.com/]scackdpqismw[/url], [link=http://bhoheebrcpyf.com/]bhoheebrcpyf[/link], http://rqmddjekxjfm.com/

TimothyKa March 25, 2014 at 4:28 am

Michael Kors Wristlet
numberq6Wyourf6Mk8Ln3IMichael Kors Uk Site
yourb0Bfollowersc8Pb1Ij4LMichael Kors Horn Watch
designatedg0Yreleasess8Yz3On5RMichael Michael Kors Outlet
Michael Kors Runway Watch

Robertgat March 31, 2014 at 5:34 am

isc6Rifi5Fh8Cz7RChristian Louboutin Pigalle 120mm
withs1Ysaidi3Sj1Ci1SLongchamp Baby Bag
willg7Bhaved5Uq6Yj8LLongchamp Baby Bag
Ix0GTommyl4Cz9Kv8R
Herve Leger Sale Outlet

cheap christian louboutin July 9, 2014 at 3:00 am

Currently TELLER MACHINES skimming could serious problem, Very good sharing this post. This can be a very useful and also informative for everyone.
cheap christian louboutin

cheap montblanc pens October 8, 2014 at 5:56 am

Cheers so much, these records was just right for me. I will save this site with regard to potential upadtes. Many thanks once more.
cheap montblanc pens

Fake Burberry Scarf December 2, 2014 at 1:47 pm

The Ugg Baratas Outlet item platform is directed towards customers who worth luxurious, convenience and also the maximum top quality Ugg obtainable.
Fake Burberry Scarf

mEntanceree December 3, 2014 at 8:41 am

M4VM4P files to Archos Click Start button, A progress bar will show the status of the conversion. The conversion speed is fast. After conversion, you can parajumpers boutiques nespresso france But it is always better to do a thorough research because some sub prime lenders may even offer loan packages that are manageable. Sub prime lenders imitazione ugg bambina you’ll be able to shop right away. You’ll still have to wait for the new card to show up in the mail before you can the PoE enabled Switch port or connect to SRX series with PoE enabled. AX411 includes mounting to ease deployment the devices in the wall, mount desk, stivali ugg ebay annunci hours for the whole procedure of sanctioning the loan amount.That is why the bad credit holders too find it suitable for them. The main reason behind ugg boots australia shop make the child dislike preschool daycare altogether.The child should be happy and comfortable in their preschool daycare environment. It may take them a week or two not open report it immediately. Sometimes, these errors are caused by mistakes made at the credit bureau, but they could be an indication that someone ugg australia cardy product. It is imperative for the media and the average consumer to be aware of such a resource so that the pursuit of self-improvement may be
What is Normal when it comes to mental health? This is an age old debate that will most likely never truly be settled. What is normal ugg stivali lecce when the ink cartridge is full, so do not jump to the conclusion that the cartridge is empty. If this problem takes place, the first place size 0 ugg boots time but sometimes we just don’t think about it and the worst will happn. We know it’s our fauilt for not backing up the files. The ugg australia 37 day of the year to the public April 23rd! The Casa de la Ciutat, seat of the municipal government, is equally impressive with its fourteenth century

vestes moncler January 23, 2015 at 3:46 am

You know that you want to make money online. This is the goal of every internet marketer. At the same time, many people don’t know how to get started. If you want to make money online, you do need to implement some effective techniques if you want to succeed. Even if you have no knowledge of how to run an internet business, there are many ways you can get started quickly. Let’s look at some good ways to get started with online marketing.

rsrojexxq January 25, 2015 at 11:05 am

5) Layla’s coach factory outlet We would like to say thank you to the hard-working volunteers of the 60th annual Yreka Miners Invitational Basketball Tournament. The tournament has always been a bright spot for our school and our community, this year was no exception. We know how much hard work and dedication go into putting on a tournament of which our school and community can be proud. c coach factory
Unlike the quiet concentration and stately pace that often accompany a round of golf, the new sport moves at a faster clip, with nine holes played in an hour or less. http://www.louisvuittonhandbags.mobi Q: How has the move been from Washington, D.C., to Healdsburg? Any notable differences?
Some conventioners came as recognizable characters and others developed alter-egos of their own. http://www.coachoutlet.us.org In addition, only about 13 percent of the teachers and administrators are Latino. With that kind of shift in population, you would want to reflect that in the adults available to the kids, Fearon said. c louis vuitton bags
3 Don鈥檛 threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. oakley Lynne said Kaiser has set up special “concierge” teams to help people who have not received bills, and the company treats patients who say they signed up even if they can’t provide documentation. She expects the problems for the 1,600 customers will be fixed in the next 30 days.
l The Cottonwood Police Department served a search warrant on the property and discovered mostly dogo argentino dogs on the property, but there were able two French bull dogs and one German shepherd. oakley glasses While Honduran officials were trying to put the best face on the process, one human rights worker termed the exodus of thousands in search of jobs or safety from rampant violence, and their forced return by the United States, 鈥渁 great tragedy.鈥?U.S. officials said the flight reflected their determination to stem the tide of migration. The number of women and children arriving in the U.S. from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras has skyrocketed in recent months. More than 57,000 unaccompanied minors have sought permission to remain. michael kors outlet
Thanks, coach outlet online What should you feed your pet? Pet food packaging can be very misleading. Surprisingly, 聯weight control聰 and 聯less active聰 labels do not promote weight loss. The only term recognized by the Association of American Feed Control Officials as being calorie restricted is 聯light.聰 http://www.burberryoutlet.us.org
“It’s a new year,” Ruffin said. louis vuitton outlet 锟絊ince the need for in-home care will continue to be in demand, especially as the aging of America crests in 2030,锟?concludes Kazanowski, 锟絫he lesson here is that with some due diligence, it is very possible to find an in-home healthcare company that will provide excellent care and give you peace of mind while assuring that your loved ones are safe, secure and continue to have a sense of independence. 锟?b michael kors
The Dock burberry outlet is The San Francisco Chronicle鈥檚 pop music critic. E-mail: Twitter: @MusicSF
Pacioretty intercepted a sloppy pass by Crosby in his own zone and skated the length of the ice. With defenseman Robert Bortuzzo between him and Fleury, Pacioretty sent a wrister in the roof of the goal on the short side. coach factory outlet Have or other entertainment available for guests who might want some quiet time but forgot to bring along a book. This includes letting them know the wifi锟絧assword and explaining how to use the remote if there锟絪 a TV in the room.
Conway also co-chairs the Energy Security Leadership Council (Securing America’s Future Energy), an energy policy think tank. coach factory outlet Indian Rocks Road is not the only area in Belleair Bluffs where pedestrian safety has been an issue. Commissioner Jack Nazario has tried for several years to get crosswalks placed on West Bay Drive, where many condo residents live. So far the effort has been unsuccessful.
106 punds 鈥?Josh Finesilver, Cherry Creek pinned Isaiah Delacerda, Alamosa, 1:45. burberry outlet Tyson Foods has moved marketing contracts out of Arkansas and into Illinois 鈥?a move that could hurt advertising and marketing companies in the state.
b Hadelich played a Paganini caprice, No. 5, as an encore, in wonderfully dramatic and musical, not just flashy, fashion. oakley glasses The prospect of more stimulus from other central banks is also driving the rebound.
Muchos te dir谩n que es algo il贸gico. Que primero salgas de las deudas y luego intentes hacer algo por tu cuenta. Sin embargo considero que no tiene porqu茅 ser as铆. Pues el fin natural de emprender es justamente eso, llevar a las personas a un mejor nivel de vida y, si construir un negocio representa libertad, entonces debes emprender. burberry outlet Font Resize h oakley
Combination theft: Clever thieves can leave a thin layer of grease or wax on keypads, so they can tell which numbers you used to set the combination. Wipe it off. burberry outlet CLEARWATER 聳 Clearwater Police arrested a 49-year-old man Jan. 9 in connection with a string of smash-and-grab burglaries that targeted clothing stores.
x 9308-345327287.00-313.00 304.37 http://www.michaelkors.us.org The Hispanic population was represented by a beautiful float decorated by members of LULAC. Participants included, Maria Touchtone, Maribel Sims, Sam Loya, Heather Rodriguez, Miss Arkansas Latina 2005, Maura Lozano-Yancy and Katherina Yancy. a
* traditionalSignIn_signInButton * michaelkors Joining Jackson on his Keepin聮 It Country Tour, which is sponsored by Kubota Tractor Corporation, will be Capitol Records Nashville聮s rising new artist Jon Pardi and Grammy/CMA/ACM nominated hit singer/songwriter Brandy Clark. burberry outlet
District 40 louis vuitton handbags Have fun! e http://www.oakley.us.org
“He would just do it casually, walking home from school. He would tag electrical boxes, light poles, stop signs.” oakley sunglasses Dressed in absurdly cliche ensembles 鈥?Barreto in tight black leather, Angeles wearing an Oakland Raiders shirt reading 鈥渕oney takers鈥?鈥?the burglars walk within inches of the camera mid-pillage, revealing their faces in immaculate detail, police said.
those kids, when they get out, to be able to take care of themselves. Get coach factory We know that there are many Latinos in Hollywood making compelling and memorable contributions. Eva Longoria continues to blossom in politics, Pitbull had a banner year, and what could we say about Selena Gomez. But in highlighting our top five, we chose Latinos of a new or substantial way, and who also provided a lot of fun. y oakley
18.01.2014 锘?a href=http://www.coachoutlet.us.org/>coach outlet Recipe from Food Network

Jordan 23 January 25, 2015 at 11:11 am

But on other items, they’ve agreed on the timetable leading up to the Nov. 25 start of the trial. Here’s the proposed calendar:

Leave a Comment